“Where did you get those pants?”

This is what I would have said immediately to my friend and colleague when I saw her walk passed my office in beautiful “waterloo blu Heather” wide leg trousers if I had not started this ridiculous fast.  I took another swig of freshly ground coffee and just let her stroll on by and tried to put the pants in the past.

Now, I bet you know already that it didn’t last long because how did I know that they weren’t just “blue” but “waterloo blu Heather”? Answer, I searched for them on the CJ Banks’ website. I did not know they carried such spunky professional items like this. It was only a couple hours later while in the copy room that I overheard another staff member compliment her on how “fun” they were and then ask her where she got them. I grabbed my handouts for film class and did a fast walk not a run (that would make me really look crazy) away and retreated into my office.

Curvy Zip Pocket Comfort Waist Trouser

Curvy Zip Pocket Comfort Waist Trouser

I did not stalk the pants right away. I drank more coffee first. (Yes, one addiction for the next.) Then it happened. Another woman in the office asked her how much they were. There was no place to go, and I couldn’t hide. I’m in a cube. Yup, no door.  I was two-cornered. Please don’t be on sale.

“I got them on clearance for $7.45.”

Clearance! 7. 45! No way! I stormed out of my cave and headed straight for her office like the cyclops from Homer’s Odyssey, but one who was more interested what Odysseus’ crew was wearing rather than the nourishment they would provide.

She started to laugh. (She knew about the project.) “Perhaps you could drop Jon a hint, an early Valentine’s gift? They also come in plum too.”

No, not plum! . . . I may have to invest in some earplugs. Oh, gee, would that be considered an accessory?

2 thoughts on ““Where did you get those pants?”

Leave a comment