Don’t tell Him you Got Fishing Gear at Walmart and Not Cabela’s

My Almost New Waders for Fly Fishing

My Almost New Waders for Fly Fishing

“You can’t tell anyone,” Jon said to me after leaving the store.

“Haha! Why?”  I clutched the bag to my chest like a little girl who just got the newest Barbie—Adventure Barbie equipped with hydro pack, walking stick, and head lamp.

“It’s just disappointing.”  He looked like he had just caught the biggest trout in the river and before he could snap a picture to prove it, the line snapped. (Yes, that disappointed.)

“It” refers to the fact that we couldn’t find fishing waders for me at his favorite store, Cabela’s, when we had traveled almost two hours to Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Canada to do so.  We ended up walking across the street and purchasing them at Walmart.

I could somewhat share his disappointment. I’m not a fan of Walmart either. I usually try to avoid it at all cost unless I need an oil change.  What don’t I like about it? I think it is the same for many:

  • cart tires smashing into the back of your heels from the huge crowds that treat the aisles like freeways
  • empty fountain drink containers left on shelves where you are shopping for fruit
  • the fact that you can’t just go in and buy what you need (Yes, this is more my problem than Walmart.)

So, why did we choose Walmart? No, it wasn’t because it was cheaper even though it was. It’s because of my abnormally big feet in comparison with my height. This is why I told Jon he shouldn’t be so hard on Cabela’s. When you are 5’ 5’’ with 9 ½ feet (sometimes 10 depending on the day, depending on the shoe, depending on what I just ate), trying to find an item that fits both at the same time, is like trying to find Adventure Barbie dressed in Patagonia gear; it just doesn’t happen.

Cabela’s fishing waders were pretty much picked over when we arrived. There were only a couple women sizes left, and these women were all centers for the WNBA, not me.  The only one that fit me height-wise was “young adult.”  Yes, I’m wearing a little kid’s pair of waders.  I know they look like they fit in the photo: I’m smiling, looking like I’m having a great time, but in reality, I’m in pain, well, my feet are. I may have the body of a young adult, but my sasquatch feet were screaming for release.

I did find release and at Walmart of all places.  I guess dodging carts, ignoring garbage, and avoiding the “stuff” can make miracles happen: This weekend I, Jodie Liedke, will for the first time go fly fishing in a pair of waders that don’t suck the life out of my toes or stretch up over my head.

I will let you know if I catch that big fish.  Perhaps that will perk Jon up and give me an excuse to buy more fishing gear because that doesn’t count as clothing, right?

2 thoughts on “Don’t tell Him you Got Fishing Gear at Walmart and Not Cabela’s

Leave a comment